Your help needed today & tomorrow

« Latest News

Your help needed today & tomorrow  Posted: August 5, 2003

On August 1, 2003 the Natural Resources Cabinet issued final revisions to the regulations governing non-coal mining (shale, limestone, clay, etc.)

The final regulations did not include all of the reforms that citizens had sought, but are a real improvement over the existing regulations in these ways:

* Requiring that performance bonds be posted in all cases.

* Requiring the applicant to identify the public roads to be used to haul the mined material and to provide a transportation plan describing the road capacity and amount and nature of hauling;

* Requiring improvements in barriers to prevent injuries;

* Expanding buffer zones around homes and other structure from mining; and

* Requiring that the permittee replace water supplies damaged by non-coal mining.

These regulatory changes must go through legislative committee review, and if disapproved, will sunset at the end of the next legislative session.

The non-coal mining industry will be testifying in opposition to the regulatory changes and seeking disapproval from the Administrative Regulation Review Subcommittee when the Committee meets this Thursday, August 7 at 9:30 a.m. in Frankfort (Room 149 of the Capitol Annex building).

PLEASE CONTACT THE MEMBERS OF THE ADMINISTRATIVE REGULATION REVIEW SUBCOMMITTEE and urge them to support these reasonable regulatory changes. Their contact information is below. Faxes and e-mails are great - also leaving a message at their Frankfort office works. Also, please contact your state legislator and ask him or her to contact the Committee chair, John Arnold, to indicate their support for these regulatory changes.

Thank you.


Rep. John Arnold Jr., Co-Chair                 Sen. Damon Thayer, Co-Chair
1301 North Lee                                       102 Grayson Way
P.O. Box 124                                         Georgetown, KY  40324
Sturgis, KY 42459                                   502-867-3046 (phone)
(Office) 270-333-4641 502-868-6086 (fax)
Frankfort 564-8100, ext. 709

Rep. James Bruce                                Rep. Jimmie Lee
6750 Ft. Campbell Blvd.                          901 Dogwood Drive
Hopkinsville, KY  42240                          Elizabethtown, KY  42701
(Home) 502-886-2422                              (Office) 270-765-6222
Frankfort 502-564-8100, ext. 657              (Home) 270-737-8889
                   Frankfort 502-564-8100, ext. 650

Sen. Joey Pendleton                             Rep. Jon David Reinhardt
905 Hurst Drive      637 W. Poplar Thicket Road
Hopkinsville, KY  42240       Alexandria, KY  41001
(Home) 270-885-1639 (Home) 606-635-3455
(Fax) 270-885-0640       Frankfort 502-564-8100, ext. 689
Frankfort 502-564-8100, ext. 647

Sen. Dick Roeding                                  Sen. Gary Tapp
2534 Kearney Court        2154 Buzzard Roost Road
Lakeside Park, KY  41017 Waddy, KY  40076
(Home) 859-331-1684 (Home) 502-829-9220
(Fax) 859-331-1238        Frankfort 502-564-8100, ext. 648
Frankfort 502-564-3120        E-Mail:

By Kentucky Resources Council on 08/05/2003 5:32 PM
« Latest News